Trying to finish my birth story

It’s a partly cloudy Sunday morning, and at the continued peril of my lower back I am sitting here posting something in this space.

For the last two months, I have been trying to come up with the motivation to finish my birth story.  The amount of time I have been spending in front of this computer screen could have lent itself nicely to many blog posts, but I have been wiling those hours away on Montessori research, work, and mindlessly staring at Facebook.  My hips are hurting from sitting on the couch for so long.  I feel a bit stuck, quite frankly.  But all of this has been accomplished while nursing my beautiful little boy, so instead of feeling totally unaccomplished, I just feel… tired of being on the couch.  What better time to try and create a blogging habit?

I think about this space all the time, especially during those moments when I am doing something that I actually feel is worthy of posting.  Once the fleeting inspiration passes, I get bogged down in the minutia of the posting process.  I need pictures, of course – all good blogs have pictures.  And I need to be a perfect writer, an unattainable but still important step in the complicated process of completing. one. post.

So sorry, reader.  Instead of giving you a perfect blog, I am giving you this – whatever it turns out to be.  I am a busy mom (actually, I quite like the WAHM acronym, perhaps with a permanently affixed exclamation point) and I don’t have time for minutia anymore.  If I want to get something done, I have to jump in and do it.  If it needs to be perfect, then I don’t have time for it right now.  Spotless is not in this milk-soaked mama’s vocabulary anymore!

Right.  I was talking about my birth story.  Of all stories, I wanted that one to be perfect.  Although it still might take awhile for me to complete, I am going to finish my first draft today.  From there, I can take moments to edit and refine – but I will get it done.  Here we go.

Leave a Reply

