Why I’m Here

I created this blog to share the ways I have found balance through my path to motherhood.  Well, it just became a little bit more real–I’m pregnant!  I found out on Friday and have been existing in a bit of a dumbfounded haze since then, with some productivity thrown in for good measure.

Yesterday was all about getting the owl carved into the pumpkin.  It’s not done yet, but we made some good progress.  I also processed the pumpkin seeds and got some little chores done in the kitchen (freezing stock, herbs, and leftover borscht, and a few other things that I can’t remember at the moment).  It was also meal planning and bathroom cleaning day.  Comme d’habitude, I kept finding more and more chores that needed attention, but my new strategy for keeping house helps me take care of that frantic type of activity.  I know I have time to get everything done!  It might not be realistic to take care of everything immediately (OK, it never is!), but whatever is not taken care of today can be revisited tomorrow.  Once I figured out that the worst way to get something done is to stress about it all the time, I decided to get rid of my stress by scheduling my days to make sure I can predictably accomplish recurring tasks.    It is infinitely helpful to be able to move around the colored squares on my Google calendar that represent the time necessary for each task so I can be flexible while still getting everything done.  More on my calendar in another post 🙂

Our evening schedule included a wonderful meal at Molly Ward Gardens in Poulsbo, which I was banking on as the venue to tell Zack the exciting news.  It had been over 24 hours of keeping the news mostly to myself, so I was starting to burst at the seams with excitement and nerves.  I wasn’t sure how he would take the news, especially in the intimately quiet restaurant, so I decided to tell him in the car on the way there.  He was a bit shocked at first, but took some deep breaths (yay!) and found himself a bit excited after a few moments.  Once we arrived at the restaurant and got a drink in him, he was great.  I also felt much better once the news was out–now I am becoming more excited and less nervous.  It feels wonderful to have support from him in whatever way I need it.  That is another way I have balance in my life.  I try to find the best way to ask for help, and I am lucky to have a receptive ear to my requests. 

So today I’ve been hanging out on the couch after waking up crazy early this morning.  We went out to do errands for a couple of hours, and now I’m trying to wrap up this blog post so I can find myself back in the kitchen making 160 refined sugar filled brownies for Zack’s students.  I am going to experiment with one batch by making it with “better” ingredients (although they obviously won’t be ideal).  That’s OK, since I can’t save the whole high school by making healthy food that they probably won’t like.  They look forward to these every year, so I’m going to make them.  I’m finding that this is another lesson I’ve needed to learn lately–be flexible.  I’m doing my best to go with the flow and find a way to handle the bumps in the road as they come in the best fashion possible.

OK, I do think it is time to finish this post and get to making those brownies.  Let me just say that even one year ago, the idea of getting up off the couch would elicit a ridiculous temper tantrum by my “inner roommate” (she can be really lazy and obnoxious).  So I’ve worked for awhile to quiet her down and make some better decisions.  I would like to share these efforts and the results  of continuing along this path–like tasty, wholesome recipes and maybe even some parenting tips when I figure out that whole business.  I think the word sadhana best sums up this journey.  The best translation I’ve found is “a means of accomplishing something” (from Wikipedia).  The word originally referenced spiritual ritual to attain enlightenment, which feels close to what I am doing whenever I immerse myself completely in a simple task like drying the dishes.  So this blog is about enlightenment too–but from a different angle.  I can’t wait to see where this goes!

Leave a Reply

